Writer’s Quote Wednesday

Standard

Redemption Song

Writer's Quote Wednesday_040215I was quite young when my big cousin would sing this song daily and he particularly loved the part that said “Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, none but ourselves can free our minds. Have no fear for atomic energy, cause none of them can stop the time…We’ve got to fulfil de Book!”

As young as I was, those lines stuck to my memory and yes I had no idea what ’emancipate’ was then, but because he sang it with so much passion, I came to love the song and those lines.

Recently, I stumbled on the lines quoted today and it hit me, I can be anything/anyone, do the impossible, be more than I am …actually much more cos NONE BUT ME CAN FREE ME! So today, I coming out strong, releasing myself/mind from every captivity and living my thoughts and dream free and full. I know others will enjoy this freedom too, cos it is peace I seek and love with lots of humour. So how do I get that across being on this side of the globe, by writing and talking about it.

Today, I’m encouraging you as writers and readers to emancipate yourself and dream wider!

Just me imanikingblog.com

#Writer’sQuoteWednesday

A bit about Bob Marley from Wikipedia and if you want more, please go online 🙂 :

Robert Nesta “Bob” Marley OM (6 February 1945 – 11 May 1981) was a Jamaican reggae singer-songwriter, musician, and guitarist who achieved international fame and acclaim.[1][2] Starting out in 1963 with the group the Wailers, he forged a distinctive songwriting and vocal style that would later resonate with audiences worldwide. The Wailers would go on to release some of the earliest reggae records with producer Lee Scratch Perry.[3] After the Wailers disbanded in 1974,[4] Marley pursued a solo career which culminated in the release of the album Exodus in 1977 which established his worldwide reputation and produced his status as one of the world’s best-selling artists of all time, with sales of more than 75 million records.[5][6] He was a committed Rastafari who infused his music with a sense of spirituality.[7]

Football

Aside from music, football played a major role throughout his life.[68] As well as playing the game, in parking lots, fields, and even inside recording studios, growing up he followed the Brazilian club Santos and its star player Pelé.[68] Marley surrounded himself with people from the sport, and in the 1970s made the Jamaican international footballer Allan “Skill” Cole his tour manager.[68] He told a journalist, “If you want to get to know me, you will have to play football against me and the Wailers.”[68]

Head image courtesy : http://www.changes.org.uk/html/changing_minds.html

© 2015. Frances Kelvin Otung. All rights reserved

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up for 2/4/15 | Silver Threading

Leave a Reply

