Earl – Defender of Imani

Standard
Earl – Defender of Imani

Back home and really tired from the day’s work. I ate a bit of jollof rice and decided to share the calories with my cousin. I noticed Imani’s eyes follow the plate but chose to ignore her. Esther (my cousin) asked her if she was interested and she replied in the affirmative. I sat back and watched them and the TV at the same time. They were circled round the rectangular centre table, Earl was drawing on one end, while Esther and Imani ate on the opposite side.

Imani: Aunty Esther, why are you eating the fish?

Esther: Is it yours? (munching away)

Imani: (protesting) But I want also! (looking upset and helpless at the same time). 😦

I pretended not to notice the altercation and continued with my movie. While the ‘fight’ lasted, Earl (apparently tired of hearing Imani whine helplessly) dropped his pencil, reached out to the plate, took out the remaining fish, “Imani, here you go” and shoved it into Imani’s mouth. Picked up his pencil and continued drawing as if nothing happened.

And yes, he got the needed silence to focus on his drawing, after we finished laughing.

© 2015. Imanikingblog. All rights reserved

6 responses »

  1. You did it again! I laughed so hard when I read what you would have done. I don’t doubt it. I’m even surprised he didn’t do that and that’s because he loves his painting maybe that’s what I do for FF. A collection of Earl’s drawings…LOL

Leave a Reply

