Freedom Friday – Introducing…

Standard

He has been called cute…the King…Bobo…Guy (he named himself this one) and yesterday he kept declaring “I’m a man, don’t call me boy”. Today, I’m introducing him to you, and you and you as the new Leonardo Da Vince and my peace maker.

Last night, Imani and her Auntie were having an exchange and it sounded like a quarrel because someone insisted that someone did something and someone refuted and I just ignored both of them as it sounded funny. King Earl shows up and screams “Enough! I say enough! I don’t want to hear any more noise, okay.” I turned, bemused and concurred, “Please tell them o!” He walks up to me too, “Mummy, I said enough, no more noise” and I replied “Yes Sir”, “Don’t call me Sir, I am a Man”. So I reply, “Yes Man.” We all busted out laughing and he walks away

Why Leonardo Da Vince?

My King is a sculptor and by inference can draw and paint. I don’t know when he started and what his sketches were like, but what I have heard repeatedly is that if you got him something, let’s say a toy car, he would dismantle it and fix it back again. Earl also dismantles, but fixing back is yet to be included in his CV. But when it comes to drawing and recently painting, he is really good for his age. As his is not taking classes from the Senior King on it yet just from his imagination and ability to create.

Our home is full of pictures of Horses and Dragons and Dogs and Rhinos and Dinosaurs and some creatures I’m yet to see (maybe except on some crazy cartoons), but he makes his details easy to pick out. His horses must have their flowing mane – sometimes he puts himself and his sister atop the horse.

Ostrich_King Earl

So today, I decided to let you share in one of them. I will try to collect some and keep but the way it is going, we might have to build a room specially for him and his art-works.

To avoid piracy, he signed his name on it “KING EARL”. By the way, he ruled the line atop his name himself and that’s uniquely his. Ain’t I so blessed?!

Horse & Foal_King Earl

© 2015. Frances Kelvin Otung. All rights reserved.

3 responses »

  1. Yes, you are so blessed o! Both drawings are beautiful.
    I especially like the second one, is that a horse + her calf? doesn’t matter, thank goodness he didn’t sign that one, now I know which one to copy 🙂 Well done King Earl!

    • I am my sister! So blessed! King and I had a good laugh reading your comments and I decided to take off the second pix and have KE sign it and put it back up, but then it is the pix behind the first one 🙂 LOL. Thank you for appreciating my painter cum lawyer cum car lover etc…

Leave a Reply

